Facebook Automatically Uploading User's Mobile Photos

Episode 932 (01:55)

Facebook's newest feature syncs user's mobile photos automatically to their social network through the Facebook mobile app. Once the user selects to use PhotoSync, each new photo taken on that device will be automatically uploaded. This follows Apple's Photostream feature in iCloud, and also the automatic upload feature in Google+. Facebook claims the photos will be private, but Leo says it may be a feature users should think twice about before enabling.

The real issue is that every time Facebook changes its privacy policy, user's settings get reset to public. So it's entirely possible that those private mobile images may end up public without a user's knowledge or consent. It is convenient, though, and if you do decide to enable this, just assume it's all going to be public.

Facebook Makes A Huge Data Grab By Aggressively Promoting Photo Sync (TechCrunch)…
http://techcrunch.com/2012/12/01/facebook-photo-sync-data/